Review - The Wicked + The Divine #3 (Image Comics)
Because sometimes… 5 out of 5 just doesn’t feel like enough.

Review - The Wicked + The Divine #3 (Image Comics)

Because sometimes… 5 out of 5 just doesn’t feel like enough.

Prometheus1.153050 - Copy (5)Courtesy of Dark Horse, we have our first official look at their upcoming Prometheus: Fire and Stone #1, from the acclaimed creative team (and long-time BCP favourites) Paul Tobin and Juan Ferreyra.

Check out the official solicit info below, then feast your eyes on some of Juan’s typically stellar artwork.

Excitement level out of ten for this one, folks?

PROMETHEUS: FIRE AND STONE #1 | PAUL TOBIN | JUAN FERREYRA

When the Prometheus never returned from her fateful journey to LV-223, the questions surrounding the origins of man went unanswered. Now a new team of explorers seeks to uncover the dark mystery that holds not only the fate of theoriginal mission, but possibly their own damnation.

* Ties directly into the hit motion picture!

* First issue in a blockbuster crossover event!

From Eisner Award–nominated team of Paul Tobin and artist Juan Ferreyra (Colder)!

[Click the thumbnails for the full size pages]


The writer of this piece was: 576682_510764502303144_947146289_nCraig Neilson (aka Ceej)
Article Archive: Ceej Says


Dark Horse gives our first look at Tobin and Ferreyra’s Prometheus: Fire and Stone! Courtesy of Dark Horse, we have our first official look at their upcoming Prometheus: Fire and Stone #1…
Scoot McNairy boating some “flashy” legwear on set of Batman v Superman

Scoot McNairy boating some “flashy” legwear on set of Batman v Superman

ScootMcNairy-CollinStark.jpg.644x668_q100

With Argo star Scoot McNairy’s role in the upcoming Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice movie remaining tightly under wraps for the time being, Batman News have added some intriguing new information with their latest set photo. (more…)

View On WordPress

DELINQ_001_COV_RIVERA - CopyPublisher: Image Comics
Writer: James Asmus & Fred Van Lente
Artist: KANO
Release Date: 20th August 2014

Featuring Valiant’s two main double-acts – Archer & Armstrong and Quantum & Woody – crossing paths for the very first time, new series The Delinquents initially faces the same uphill battle that most crossover titles find themselves being forced to overcome… Why?  Why are these two characters, duos, whatever, meeting?  And in that respect, James Asmus and Fred Van Lente absolutely knock this one out of the park, putting together a gloriously offbeat concept works perfectly to unite the worlds of these two utterly distinctive partnerships.  Featuring corrupt corporations, lost hobo treasure and a treasure map that… well… that has to be seen to be believed (check out the preview artwork below if you don’t believe me), the premise of this series is unashamedly goofy and is, in my opinion, all the better for it.

As you would expect from these two writers, the comedy is absolutely spot-on, and both Woody’s goofy schtick and Archer’s born-again straight man routine are absolutely  hilarious.  Sure, not every single gag hits the mark, which would perhaps be a problem if Asmus and Van Lente were crouched like snipers, firing off gags with deadly precision.  However, their approach is a little more akin to spraying wildly with a machine gun as they charge into the breach, screaming “this is awesome!” without a care in the world.  And, in spite of the amount of rounds they’re popping off, they still somehow manage to hit the target an inordinate amount.

Artist Kano rounds the team out perfectly, portraying the main characters perfectly but also putting together some fantastically creative visual ‘background gags’ along the way.  Rather than limiting the humour and creativity to the famous foursome and their dialogue, he throws in some brilliantly neat touches that ensure that the reader needs to keep their eyes open to experience the full unbridled awesomeness of this issue.  It also bears mentioning that this issue also boasts one of the coolest ‘opening credits’ scenes I’ve read for a long time, and a large portion of that credit  lies squarely at Kano’s feet.

To be honest, perhaps the only negative I can see about this first issue is the fact that – tantalizingly – the two double-acts don’t actually cross paths during these pages.  However, the groundwork is set up masterfully, and given the four amazing personalities involved, you can bet that when they finally do meet, the sparks are really going to start flying.

The Delinquents manages to take two incredibly strong double acts and integrate them in such a way as to ensure that not a single character is lost in the shuffle, all the while making sure the humour keeps flowing and the whole thing doesn’t end up feeling forced.  So whether you’re familiar with the worlds of Archer & Armstrong or Quantum & Woody, do yourselves a favour and pick this one up.  I promise you won’t regret it.

Rating: 5/5


PREVIEW ARTWORK.

[Click thumbnail for full size image]


The writer of this piece was: 576682_510764502303144_947146289_nCraig Neilson (aka Ceej)
Article Archive: Ceej Says


Review – The Delinquents #1 (Valiant) Publisher: Image Comics Writer: James Asmus & Fred Van Lente Artist: KANO Release Date: 20th August 2014

19195 - CopyPublisher: Dark Horse Comics
Writer: David Lapham
Artist: Mike Huddleston
Release Date: 20th August 2014

The cover of this book is an object lesson in how to comprehensively encapsulate the story contained within in one striking image. E.M. Gist’s masterful, figurative depiction of Ephraim locked in a desperate battle for survival against the Strigoi, helps lend gravitas to the premise and perfectly underlines the threat humanity is facing. The first six pages of the issue are essentially wordless, aside from a few blood curdling screams and frenzied grunts, even so, Mike Huddleston’s art effortlessly relays the drama and horror of the opening segment, which details the origins of the being responsible for humanity’s perilous position.

Del Toro and Hogan’s vision of a post-apocalyptic world shrouded in near permanent darkness is explored for the remainder of the issue, told from the perspectives of Vasily Fet, and more importantly Ephraim Goodweather, who provides the story’s emotional centre. His hopes for a better future are dwindling, and all around him the Strigoi are literally and figuratively draining the life from humanity. The populace have been brought to heel through the systematic extermination of the intellectuals and academics, or any other figure who might inspire rebellion. Rationing has been implemented, facilitated by an all-encompassing multinational corporation subverted to restrict the flow of goods and services, and farms have been set up to house human cattle. Metaphorically, the story highlights the simplicity with which humans can be controlled, either by the threat of violence and death, or the control of money, and hence, goods and services. It’s one of several metaphors, most of which are a commentary on more conspiratorially influenced themes; surveillance, population control, pacification through mass media, and the inherent dangers of fascism. David Lapham is able to skilfully balance these weighty themes, whilst crafting an intense, atmospheric script with real emotional weight.

The dark and oppressive landscape you’d expect in such a story is expertly captured by Mike Huddleston, through the choice of a muted palette, using colour sparingly for maximum impact. The world is lifeless, almost absent of light, which neatly symbolises the nature of the enemy that threatens it. Of particular note is the level of ‘lived-in’ realism in character facial expressions, and the clear distinction he is able to strike between races. There are some other nice touches, too; the small island featured in the Master’s origin is cleverly shaped like a biohazard symbol, neatly marking the virus’ ground zero.

This was my first experience of The Strain in any form, and it definitely wont be the last. Strongly written, through provoking, and strikingly illustrated, this is a must read for all.

Rating: 5/5


PREVIEW ARTWORK.

[Click thumbnail for full size image]


The writer of this piece was: Martin Doyle
You can follow Martin on Twitter
You can check out more of Martins reviews and thoughts on random retro things over at Retromuse


Review – The Strain: The Night Eternal #1 (Dark Horse) Publisher: Dark Horse Comics Writer: David Lapham Artist: Mike Huddleston Release Date: 20th August 2014
Review – Manifest Destiny #9 (Image Comics)

Publisher: Image Comics Writer: Chris Dingess Artist: Matthew Roberts Release Date: 20th August 2014

Review – Manifest Destiny #9 (Image Comics)

Publisher: Image Comics Writer: Chris Dingess Artist: Matthew Roberts Release Date: 20th August 2014

Review - The Fade Out #1 (Image Comics)

Review – The Fade Out #1 (Image Comics)

FadeOut01_Cover - Copy

FadeOut01_Cover - CopyPublisher: Image Comics
Writer: Ed Brubaker
Artist: Sean Phillips
Release Date: 20th August 2014
(more…)

View On WordPress

From Wonder Woman to Mockingbird, Adrianne Palicki joins SHIELD

From Wonder Woman to Mockingbird, Adrianne Palicki joins SHIELD

wenn3274896You will be familiar with actress Adrianne Palicki from GI JOE: Retaliation as Lady Jay, or NBC’s failed Wonder Woman Pilot but now you will know her as Mockingbird, as she joins Agents of Shield season 2. (more…)

View On WordPress

I like many comic book fans was saddened last year to hear that Geoerge Perez had lost the use of the sight in one of his eyes, How would this affect the legendary penciller’s artwork?, was my main worry but BOOM Studios has announced it is to release a new series from the artist “George Perez’s Sirens”

Perez -who has drawn just about everything under the sun is best known for his associations with the New Teen Titans books at DC and Avengers over at Marvel- hasn’t release his own original material in over a decade.

His work still very much stands up as evident from artwork released via boom [See Below], the six part mini-series that will hit shelves in September is described as a “sweeping cosmic adventure that spans time and space and follows a team of female heroes that will appeal to fans of Battlestar Galactica’s Starbuck, Star Wars’ Princess Leia, and Alien’s Ripley.”

[Click on covers for enlarged view.]


The writer of this piece was: GARYavGary Kane aka (GK)
GK tweets from @Kanoclassic

George Perez hits BOOM! Studios with original series Sirens I like many comic book fans was saddened last year to hear that Geoerge Perez had lost the use of the sight in one of his eyes,
Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson confirms SHAZAM role [POLL]

Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson confirms SHAZAM role [POLL]

ADAMARVEL

After seamingly endless hints as to his inclusion in the DC Movie Universe–The Rock has finally confirmed that he has bagged a role in the SHAZAM movie… But stopped short of saying whether he will be wearing read or Black.

On a press junket in Mexico promoting Brett Ratner’s Hercules in which he plays the titular demigod, he told the Associated Pressof his unknown role in the upcoming Warner…

View On WordPress